16 Jan, 2010
Beaufort Chamber of Commerce getting closer to the City Loft Hotel
The chamber will be moving into the historic Arsenal building at 713 Craven Street, the space will not only also double as a meeting and event venue but it will be the official visitor center.
The central and iconic location will immediately immerse visitors in Beaufort’s historic surroundings.
The yellow fort-like building was built in 1798 as home of the Beaufort Volunteer Artillery, but the building saw major changes in 1852 when it was rebuilt in its present Gothic style.
In addition to serving as the home of the BVA, the building has also served as a venue for parties, plays, political events, fundraisers, lectures and dances.
In 1939 the Beaufort Museum was chartered and housed in a first-floor wing constructed during a 1930s expansion funded through the depression-era Works Projects Administration. In 1966 the National Guard moved out of the building, and the museum relocated into the second story following a renovation.
For many years the building housed government offices as well as the family court and the museum. In 2001 the city leased the building to Historic Beaufort Foundation. During its tenure, HBF renovated the interior with the use of its revolving fund. In 2008-9 the exterior was restored with a Save America’s Treasures grant the foundation secured from the National Park Service. Additional funding support came from the City of Beaufort and Beaufort County. The foundation turned the keys and the museum artifacts back to the city this year.